Where did time go?

Over two months ago I posted “Finally at the Final”.  It seems like a blur and only a few days ago, yet also seems like a lifetime has passed.

Well, in addition to time passing, I passed my final and graduated from the AssistU program.  I began a post-graduate class the end of May and am plugging along with that.  It was an amazing feeling to hear that I graduated and successfully completed the hours and hours of very cerebral and hard work and received my diploma.  Hooray!  Also in May, I began co-leading the Hinsdale Chapter of The Heart Link Network and assisted with the May meeting before leaving to go back to MI.  In fact, we are just a few “likes” from 25 on our Facebook Page, so we would love to have you “like” us, especially if you are a woman business owner in the southwest suburbs of Chicago.  We’d love to have you join us!

In June, in addition to becoming Co-Secretary and Newsletter Chairwoman for the Cutting Edge Chapter of the IAAP, I moved.

We received an offer on our home June 1 and closed on June 29. I packed 50% of it alone, and was fortunate enough to have an amazing friend come into town for 4 days and help me pack the other half.  She worked her butt off and I am completely indebted to her for her amazing help.  She helped me get a boat ready to trailer, put a hitch on my Jeep, and helped me fill the boat with the boating equipment, a sailboard, and a Seitech boat dolly that had to be disassembled.  We took 9 loads to Salvation Army, had 18 bankers boxes of shredding, took 3 loads of computer stuff to best Buy for recycling, and still had so much more to deal with.  It was a huge amount of work in four days, but she got me back into the game when I was overwhelmed and unsure what to do next.  She is my angel.

Further, my wonderful aunt and uncle drove in to pick up some cooking items for my cousin.  They trucked 5 hours each way and left with what I hope will help her with her business.  She graduated from culinary school and will be doing private dinner parties.  Since I am trying hard to change my eating and cooking habits, it was wonderful for me to be able to pass on many of my large scale kitchen items for storage and baking.  I may have more for her once I weed out again the next time, but will worry about that then!  She was grateful for the items, and I was grateful to her mom and dad for helping so much by driving up to me to fetch them.  My friend had to take a load to them (because I was not as organized as I had hoped) on her way home, but my wonderful aunt bought her lunch on her way.

After packing up (saying we packed a lot was an understatement: we had 21o medium size Home Depot boxes.  I didn’t know where it all came from!), having the movers come (we filled a semi 3/4 of the way full and only had one couch, one queen size bed, one china cabinet, and a coffee table), celebrating our last night as MI ‘residents’ with friends, I hitched on our family sailboat and drove it the 700+ miles to Norfolk, VA to give to my brother.  He and I learned to sail on it in the 70s, 80s, and 90s, so we are hoping his daughters will learn to sail on it in the next few decades.  He lives on the Chesapeake Bay and is working out how he will handle it so they can start learning.  His 7 year old can swim well, and is great on a paddle board and kayak, so I guarantee she will be able to master sailing with ease.  Good for her!

I spent a little over a week with them (it was my first time seeing him since a funeral in September 2009) and had a great time.  He even took me flying in his little plane.  I was grateful to have the time with him, and to relax after what was probably the hardest month of my life.  It was good.

I got back to our IL home last weekend after a 17 hour road trip, an amazing lunch with my business coach in Frederick, MD, and I cannot express how amazing it feels to know we don’t have to go to MI to work on or at another house.  This one needs work, and to anyone thinking about it: one house is more than enough.  Don’t do two unless you can afford a staff to manage it and 50% more problems than you think you are going to have.  It seemed like something always needed looking after, and it is nice to be down to one place in which to do that.  We are having a room dry-walled and re-floored here and then may try to sell this place, we shall see.  We are sort of burned out on home ownership and want to rent for a while until we see what the future holds.  To be honest, I just want to live somewhere and feel at home.  We straddled two houses for 5 years and it never felt like we had one.  I am looking forward to that feeling.  The thought of moving again is daunting to me, but I am willing to do what it takes to feel settled.  It’s the #1 goal.

And, part of that feeling settled means getting my health and fitness back into line with the rest of my life. It seems to be the thing I sideline whenever the going gets tough.  I swing so far the other direction that it amazes even me.  Without going into crazy medical detail, this year and the time I spent on my business and our homes has taken a toll on me.  I have gained weight and my blood pressure was, in June, the highest it has ever been.  After fighting hard last year to get off blood pressure meds I am right back on, and have a few new ones added to the plate.  I had another wake up call with my health and know I need to get back on track to make it better.

In the quest to not waste food in MI and to eat what we had in the freezer and pantry, I completely went off my healthy way of eating.  I am sad to tell you I even ate hot dogs.  It was like a tidal wave once I started, and it carried over into meals out and meals at friends.  Name the meat, I ate it in June and the first week of July.  I also drank too much wine a couple of nights in there, and started up on caffeine on the 14 hour drive to VA.  I didn’t just limp in, either, I went right back to the triple-shot, Venti, Caramel Macchiato from Starbucks.  It was great, kept me awake, but my body paid a toll.  My digestion slowed, my joints swelled, and I gained.  Stress, poor eating, and no exercise are a lethal combination for anyone.  Pile that on a slow metabolism and, well, you get fat.

When I left for MI on 5/26 I weighed almost 20 pounds more than I had last fall… but after having a sprained ankle and graduating from an intense program, I knew I could just get back on track and be okay.  When I got home from VA, however, I had packed on another 20.  Yes, 20 pounds in 6 weeks and 2 days.  ICK.  Even my 5 and 7 year old nieces asked me what happened.  I was ‘chubby’ and ‘fat’ to them and not setting a good example for them at all.  This sudden weight gain was not good for my heart physically, either.  It was time to get on it.

I got my act together on food and I began walking right away.  I’ve walked 23 miles since Monday, and today I started P90X Lean again.  I’ve cut out animal meat, caffeine and alcohol, sugar and white flour.  I am going to be looking at eggs, dairy, gluten, and fish/seafood at some point, but for now I am focusing on healthy eating more than what I am and am not eating.  I feel best without that stuff in my diet, but I know I have too much to do unpacking, dealing with the new stuff that has come up, and focusing on my business and working out to go cold-turkey.  I will do it gradually.

So my focus is much more fruits and veggies, 50% raw a day.  So far I have been averaging 40% but I am moving forward.  No more fried, no more crazy stupid fats.  It will be hard after having them all again, but I feel better.

So… today is “day one” of 90X Lean and we will see how the first round of 90 days goes.  I hope I am feeling better soon.  It’s going to hurt, a lot, but I can do it. 🙂 I have before.

I won’t have time to post daily.  I mean, who am I kidding?  But, I will try to post weekly.

This week’s goals:

Intake:  Gain control over ‘out of control’ eating and hydrate.  This is enough for week 1.  I am going to enjoy the opportunity and the food, and not be freaked out by how things go during the transition.

Output:  Get into the groove with at least one daily workout.  P90X is not easy, especially when you are this out of shape.  I will not be able to do some of it at all… but I will do my ‘best and forget the rest’ and ‘bring it’.  On nights when my husband wants to walk to dinner, I will go with him and call it a double.  That should increase the cardio sufficiently to get back to a point where I can re-start my zone training on the treadmill.  That will be great for my heart and cardiovascular system.

I’m not sure where the time goes, but I am working on it each day.  As far as blogging again, it is good to be back.

About amkaz

A Virtual Assistant is a highly trained and skilled administrative professional who works in a collaborative partnership with successful small business owners and entrepreneurs providing administrative support and personal concierge services, without having to be physically present in your office. Communication and collaboration is easily accomplished through phone, fax, e-mail, and the internet. True assistance is no longer bound by geography or nine to five, Monday through Friday business hours. I am an accomplished and versatile professional with 10 years management and entrepreneurial experience in retail sales, buying, and store operations and another 8 years experience with office operations management within the banking and merchant payment processing industry. I am a determined individual who consistently achieves desired results in challenging environments while building and maintaining strong relationships with clients and colleagues. My areas of expertise include document creation and management, process improvement, organization, and coordinating classes, meetings and events. Contact me for more information about how I can help you grow your business! Mission Statement: My mission is to create time, opportunity, and results by delivering the highest level of administrative services with integrity, diligence, and responsiveness. I am not successful unless my clients are administratively successful.
This entry was posted in Healthy Living and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

