Corn Poblano Chowder

I used to LOVE the Corn-Poblano Chowder from Whole Foods (recipe below).  What am I saying, I still do… but it is loaded with fat and calories, and is also not vegan or gluten-free… not exactly fitting the lifestyle I would like to have, not to mention it makes me sick an hour or so after I eat it. For months now I have wanted to attempt to recreate the chowder and have it come remotely close.
Here is the original recipe:

Whole Foods Roasted Corn Poblano Chowder
Serves 6 to 8

3 medium poblano peppers
Olive oil for roasting peppers
4 tablespoons butter, divided
1 stalk celery, sliced thin
2 large cloves fresh garlic, chopped
1 medium yellow onion, chopped
1/4 cup plus 1 tablespoon all-purpose flour
6 cups vegetable stock
2 cups whole milk (or half & half)
1 1/2 pounds new potatoes, washed and diced unpeeled (or Yukon Gold)
1 (16-ounce) package frozen corn kernels
1/2 cup roasted red peppers (in jar), chopped
Salt to taste
Cayenne pepper to taste

* Lightly coat poblano peppers with olive oil and place on pan for roasting. Place pan under oven broiler until peppers are charred (about 5 minutes); turn over and char other side.
* Remove peppers from oven and place in paper bag; roll top of bag to trap steam. Allow peppers to sit for 10 minutes.
* Remove steamed peppers. Set aside to cool. Peel, remove stem and seeds, and chop.
* In a large, heavy soup pot, melt 2 tablespoons butter over medium-high heat. Add celery, garlic and onions and cook till translucent, about 5 minutes.
* Add remaining 2 tablespoons butter till melted. Reduce heat to low. Stir in the flour to make a roux. Cook for 5 minutes, stirring often, careful not to let the flour scorch.
* Turn up heat to medium-high and slowly add the vegetable stock, stirring constantly to prevent lumps. Add milk.
* Bring mixture to a rolling simmer and cook for 5 minutes, stirring frequently.
* Add the potatoes, poblanos, corn and red peppers.
* Adjust heat to a slow simmer and cook uncovered for 30 to 45 minutes, stirring occasionally.
* Season with salt and cayenne pepper; serve.
– Whole Foods Market

Nutritional information per serving: 362 cal., 12 g fat (7 g sat), 29 mg chol., 57 g carb., 11 g pro., 6 g fiber, 595 mg sodium

Today I made the first attempt, and no… the recipe will not be posted here, yet.  It needs work.

Corn Poblano Chowder Attempt 1

First, I roasted the poblanos last month when I was going to make my attempt, and due to lack of time I froze them after roasting and chopping.  This bumped up the heat a bit so my chowder is a bit on the “call the fire-department” side, in a sweet-heat kind of way.

Second, it’s too sweet.  This seems odd after saying how much heat is packed in it.  I am the first to love sweet-heat, but this is too sweet and I know why…  I used leeks in the base mire poix because I wanted to try to not use potato and wanted to see what the leeks would do to the flavor.  I think they added a bit to the sweetness, while the potato would have dulled down both the heat and the sweetness.  Trouble is, I want to try to hang on to the leeks… I like the flavor they added to the broth.

Third, it’s too runny.  for my first attempt I eliminated the butter-flour mixture, and the whole milk, and used a container of So Delicious Plain Coconut Yogurt instead of the roux and So Delicious Coconut Creamer, thinned with vegetable broth, instead of the milk.  It’s going to need the roux.  I think arrowroot flour and Earth Balance will be the base for my next attempt… and I will use coconut milk instead of the creamer.  This may help with the sweetness, also.

Overall, it is good.  I am freezing half of it to eat a few weeks from now, but will eat this half the next few days/nights for lunch and dinner with a slice of gluten-free whole grain (not vegan) bread from Udi’s… to help with the heat.

Over-all not a bad first attempt, but I am glad I am alone to eat it.  And (bonus) it is much healthier than the Whole Foods counterpart, even if it’s not as creamy-dreamy.

Any thoughts on how to keep the carbs down (no potato) and help balance the sweet of the corn and coconut milk?

About amkaz

A Virtual Assistant is a highly trained and skilled administrative professional who works in a collaborative partnership with successful small business owners and entrepreneurs providing administrative support and personal concierge services, without having to be physically present in your office. Communication and collaboration is easily accomplished through phone, fax, e-mail, and the internet. True assistance is no longer bound by geography or nine to five, Monday through Friday business hours. I am an accomplished and versatile professional with 10 years management and entrepreneurial experience in retail sales, buying, and store operations and another 8 years experience with office operations management within the banking and merchant payment processing industry. I am a determined individual who consistently achieves desired results in challenging environments while building and maintaining strong relationships with clients and colleagues. My areas of expertise include document creation and management, process improvement, organization, and coordinating classes, meetings and events. Contact me for more information about how I can help you grow your business! Mission Statement: My mission is to create time, opportunity, and results by delivering the highest level of administrative services with integrity, diligence, and responsiveness. I am not successful unless my clients are administratively successful.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

