Beans for Christmas

I got a box of beans as a gift for Christmas, and they aren’t your ordinary beans. I got the Desert Island Sampler from Rancho Gordo !  I made a Christmas Lima Bean and celery dish for dinner tonight and it was good enough to post immediately.

Christmas Lima Bean "Stew"

Christmas Lima Bean "Stew" photo courtesy of 101 Cookbooks

I modified a soup recipe from 101 Cookbooks because my husband is not a soup-for-dinner fan.  Further, he can get a little “vegged out” with all my vegan dishes and will say things like “What protein are you serving with this?” or “We’re having beans for dinner?  What else?” so I know I need to hearty it up or cook meat… which I hate to do.  So, I read the linked recipe, followed some of the format, but really did my own thing and LOVED IT.  It even got a “10” from my husband… which is no small feat for “just beans”.

Christmas Lima Celery Stew (courtesy of 101 Cookbooks)

  • 1 pound dried Christmas Lima beans, soaked at least 12 hours (I soaked 18) then cooked with 3 peeled cloves of garlic, reserving ALL bean liquor (liquid) but discarding the garlic after cooking  (NOTE: I cooked the beans one night ahead, then stored them in the liquid in the fridge until tonight the made the “stew”)
  • 10 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil
  • 2 large heads of celery, with leaves, sliced into  1/2 inch slices
  • 3 bunches of scallions, green parts included, sliced into 1/3 inch rounds, reserve 1/3 for garnish
  • 10 garlic cloves, very thinly sliced (have you seen Goodfella’s?  Sliced so thin it melts in the pan)
  • 2 teaspoons caraway seeds, lightly crushed
  • Celtic Sea Salt
  • 1 28-ounce can whole plum tomatoes, drained, rinsed, cored and roughly chopped
  • oily black olives, seeded and roughly chopped
  • 1 lemon, cut into wedges

Heat 8 tbsp olive oil in a large pot over medium-high heat. When the oil is hot, add the celery, and stir until coated with olive oil. Cook for ten minutes, stirring often. Add 2/3 of the scallions, the garlic, caraway, and a couple big pinches of salt (about 2 tsp). Cook for another 10 – 15 minutes, or until everything softens and begins to caramelize a bit.

Add the tomatoes and another teaspoons salt and cook for another few minutes.
Add the beans along with all their liquid and 2 tablespoons of olive oil.

Bring to a simmer, taste, and season with more salt if needed. Let sit for a couple minutes and serve each bowl topped with a spoonful of the remaining chopped scallions, the olives and a squeeze of lemon. DO NOT MISS THE LEMON, it does take it over the top…

Serves 8 – 10.

So our meal ended as a 10.  I made a salad to go along with it but it wasn’t needed.  Pure, simple, Christmas Lima Bean love.  Thank you, Brenna, I hope you try it and like it… it’s a recipe right up your alley!

About amkaz

A Virtual Assistant is a highly trained and skilled administrative professional who works in a collaborative partnership with successful small business owners and entrepreneurs providing administrative support and personal concierge services, without having to be physically present in your office. Communication and collaboration is easily accomplished through phone, fax, e-mail, and the internet. True assistance is no longer bound by geography or nine to five, Monday through Friday business hours. I am an accomplished and versatile professional with 10 years management and entrepreneurial experience in retail sales, buying, and store operations and another 8 years experience with office operations management within the banking and merchant payment processing industry. I am a determined individual who consistently achieves desired results in challenging environments while building and maintaining strong relationships with clients and colleagues. My areas of expertise include document creation and management, process improvement, organization, and coordinating classes, meetings and events. Contact me for more information about how I can help you grow your business! Mission Statement: My mission is to create time, opportunity, and results by delivering the highest level of administrative services with integrity, diligence, and responsiveness. I am not successful unless my clients are administratively successful.
This entry was posted in Healthy Living. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

