Being Grateful and some Thanksgiving Recipe Links

All sorts of news today that has me thinking about gratitude, the upcoming holidays, health, and the miracle of life.  I have put off work for this afternoon and evening to get a few personal things accomplished and this blog became a part of that quest.  There will probably be a few more blogs as the next few weeks unfold.

This will be my first gluten-free/vegetarian/vegan Thanksgiving and I am patiently compiling recipes to help me make it also my best Thanksgiving.

We host, so I will still be making free-range Turkey that is LOCAL (Roperti’s Turkey Farm in Livonia, MI).  I ordered them today.  One large hen, 22-24 pounds, and an 18 pound smoked hen.  I also get a 7 pound Dearborn Ham (that is a special request every year).  I feel good that it is local and I go to the farm to get them at least.  I won’t eat them, but I will prepare them for my loved ones.

I am still making gravy and will be pulling out my frozen bones from last year in the next week to make my own stock from scratch.  Each year I freeze the bones on Thanksgiving day and seal them well so that I can make my own stock the next year and get as much use out of the bird as possible.  First, I roast all of the bones that I froze raw (neck, wing tips, etc) and then I make a smoked stock and a regular stock.  I use the smoked stock for the stuffing and the regular for the gravy.  Leftovers I usually make soup… but this year I am going to try to make all my soups vegetarian.  It will largely depend on the quantity of stock they produce.  I then re-freeze the stocks for the week of Thanksgiving.  It is a fun project and I feel very “Martha” along the way.

This year I will be making a gluten-free, vegan stuffing in addition to the regular stuffing I make.  I am still in search of that recipe and may just makeup my own.  My mom’s stuffing (sans the broth and butter) is vegetarian, I would just need to use gluten-free bread, Earth Balance, and vegetable stock so it is in the running.  In my spare time I surf for other options.

I will also be making regular mashed potatoes (with dairy), but I plan to add to those a squash recipe of some kind (Considering this one from Gluten-Free Goddess… stuffing, too) and a mashed vegetable (thinking Cauliflower again.. maybe this Book of Yum recipe) that is vegan as well.  I think I am going to also do a small portion of vegan creamed kale.  I have had Whole Food’s version and love it.  I am going to play around with it and see if I can make one that is Soy-Free as well.  I have to be careful, though, as I have a tendancy to make too much food.  I have also been contemplating lightening up my hubby’s favorite Brussels Sprouts with this Brussels Sprouts with Pears (I will have to pre-test this one for husband approval, however).

As I search for my stuffing, kale, and squash recipes, I have also been contemplating a pie.  I saw a Facebook post yesterday from The Spunky Coconut and she was attempting a pumpkin pie.  Well, her blog this morning makes me think it will be my pie for 2010.  It LOOKS delicious!

The Spunky Coconut's Egg-Free, Dairy-Free, Gluten-Free Pumpkin Pie!

So… I added this to my list.

In addition to the Thanksgiving fare, I have to find my soups.  Wednesday night, as guests arrive and I am busy with all of the preparations for Thursday, is soup and salad night.  I generally get bread, cold cuts, and condiments out, have a big salad on hand, and two kinds of soup.  I will be doing that this year but in an effort to be “kind” and not have as much stuff to deal with I am only doing soup, salad, and bread.  I want to do a creamy-consistency soup and a clear broth soup.  I was thinking Kale and White Bean for one and possibly a Pureed Roasted Pepper (VitaMix, baby) for the other.  Those searches will happen this weekend.

Guests stay until Sunday, so for Friday night I have planned Stuffed Cabbage from Gluten-Free Goddess and a salad.  Or I have Rips’ Sweet Potato Lasagna with Tempeh that is also a possibility.  I want to make sure I have enough protein to keep my meat eating relatives happy.  Saturday night is leftover night for sure (or we go out.  I am generally exhausted and want nothing to do with the kitchen by then).  It all depends on the crowd and who is still here and who has gone home.  I love it if everyone stays but the dynamics of that is generally another blog post all together.  It’s a lot of mouths to feed for a weekend (7-11 depending on who stays) when you are used to two of you… but I love it and would never have it any other way.

Regardless of the choices I like to pre-plan as much as possible so that I have a relaxing and low-stress week as possible, and my family wants to stay as long as possible.  There is no greater feeling of love in the world than a house full of family and friends.  I cannot wait!

 

About amkaz

A Virtual Assistant is a highly trained and skilled administrative professional who works in a collaborative partnership with successful small business owners and entrepreneurs providing administrative support and personal concierge services, without having to be physically present in your office. Communication and collaboration is easily accomplished through phone, fax, e-mail, and the internet. True assistance is no longer bound by geography or nine to five, Monday through Friday business hours. I am an accomplished and versatile professional with 10 years management and entrepreneurial experience in retail sales, buying, and store operations and another 8 years experience with office operations management within the banking and merchant payment processing industry. I am a determined individual who consistently achieves desired results in challenging environments while building and maintaining strong relationships with clients and colleagues. My areas of expertise include document creation and management, process improvement, organization, and coordinating classes, meetings and events. Contact me for more information about how I can help you grow your business! Mission Statement: My mission is to create time, opportunity, and results by delivering the highest level of administrative services with integrity, diligence, and responsiveness. I am not successful unless my clients are administratively successful.
This entry was posted in Healthy Living, Holidays. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Being Grateful and some Thanksgiving Recipe Links

  1. Retired woman says:

    Sounds wonderful and welcoming! A great family time for all, Vegan or not.

Leave a Reply

