Independence Day Weekend

Now, I know that this weekend is not about me.  But I am adding to the celebration a list of things that I am now “independent of” in the spirit of the weekend.  I am free of caffiene and no longer eat meat.  I have cut my alcohol intake from a glass of wine a night (or about a bottle a week) to one glass, at most, a month.  I have cut processed sugar from my life, and for the most part have eliminated gluten, dairy, and eggs although those do remain a struggle when I am dining out or at someone’s home.

I need to continually work to be free of these toxins and keep my body as full of whole, healthy foods as possible.  Freedom from voluntary toxins, to quote Martha Stewart, is a Good Thing.

Freedom has its life in the hearts, the actions, the spirit of men and so it must be daily earned and refreshed – else like a flower cut from its life-giving roots, it will wither and die. -Dwight D. Eisenhower

Food for the weekend:

  • Friday:  apple, shake, mache salad, larabar, and brown rice and beans with a green salad
  • Saturday: peach, green juice, quinoa salad, and out for dinner.  Probably quinoa pasta with veggies OR mexican veggie and cheeseless burrito
  • Sunday we are going to RIB FEST so I have NO IDEA.  Pear and peach for breakfast then off to the fest for a while.  they normally have corn and potato items so I will have to make due.  I will carry a lara bar with me and eat greens on BOTH ENDS of the trip.  Dinner is back at Rib Fest for the fireworks, but I can take a salad with me to eat while the guys eat ribs because we stay out of the park.
  • Monday: Fruit again for breakfast, lara bar snack, then appetizers on the boat.  I am taking an olive and sun dried tomato tapenade on flax crackers and endive.  I am also taking Texas Caviar (Black-eyed pea salsa) and chips.  For dinner they are grilling burgers and brats.  There will be gazpacho and I am going to take a Dill Potato Salad (with fresh dill from my organic herb garden) and Provencial Garbanzo Beans.  Both should be outstanding and enough for me without dragging a veggie burger along as well.

That having been said it is back to the workouts this weekend as well.  Tonight is a 25 minute run walk to kick off my couch to 5K trainnig program.  More about this later.  Tomorrow is the 90 minute class I missed on Monday night.  I go there after acupuncture so all in all it will be a very fit 24 hours.  Monday is another 25 min run/walk, and I will probably do some yoga on Sunday, just for fun!

I am so very grateful for all of those who work and have worked tirelessly to maintain our countries independence, and all who worked so hard and sacrificed so much so many years ago and all throughout our history to make and keep this “the free world”.

My brother is away from his family this 4th, serving our country.  My thanks go out to him and all the other service men and women, and their families for protecting us and enabling us to have so much freedom.  Without you we wouldn’t have any.  Thank you so very, very much!

To everyone, have a wonderful Independence Day and be thankful for freedom, in all of it’s forms.  God Bless!

About amkaz

A Virtual Assistant is a highly trained and skilled administrative professional who works in a collaborative partnership with successful small business owners and entrepreneurs providing administrative support and personal concierge services, without having to be physically present in your office. Communication and collaboration is easily accomplished through phone, fax, e-mail, and the internet. True assistance is no longer bound by geography or nine to five, Monday through Friday business hours. I am an accomplished and versatile professional with 10 years management and entrepreneurial experience in retail sales, buying, and store operations and another 8 years experience with office operations management within the banking and merchant payment processing industry. I am a determined individual who consistently achieves desired results in challenging environments while building and maintaining strong relationships with clients and colleagues. My areas of expertise include document creation and management, process improvement, organization, and coordinating classes, meetings and events. Contact me for more information about how I can help you grow your business! Mission Statement: My mission is to create time, opportunity, and results by delivering the highest level of administrative services with integrity, diligence, and responsiveness. I am not successful unless my clients are administratively successful.
This entry was posted in Healthy Living and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

