Borrowed Earth Cafe

Okay, I am not sure why it took me so long to try this, but I found the answer to my prayers.

Ten minutes from our offices, in downtown Downers Grove, Illinois, is the Borrowed Earth Cafe. All Vegan, all Gluten-Free, all RAW food.  Dine in (and it is NICE) and carry-out, and you can do a week of meals for less than it would cost me to make them myself.  And, honey, I don’t cook like this for myself.

Chili Rellenos

Chili Rellenos

I Can't Believe It's Not An Egg Salad Sandwich

I Can't Believe It's Not An Egg Salad Sandwich

I went in to test it for dinner and had “Egg” salad sandwich (Creamy eggless “egg” salad made with nuts, diced celery, and scallions, served in our zucchini flax seed wrap with mixed greens) with three side salads (this comes with all entrees) and after I ate the whole thing (I shouldn’t have it was HUGE but it was SO GOOD!) I also decided to try dessert.  The meal plan comes with 2 desserts so I thought, ah, what the heck.  Okay.  No joke.  MAGNIFICENT!

Raw Strawberry Shortcake

Raw Strawberry Shortcake

So I decided to plan to eat their food for a few weeks and see how things go. I can mix in my own cooked grain and bean combos, do my own breakfasts and lunches, and have this for dinner.  I mean, I don’t have a dehydrator yet so making wraps and crackers myself until I get one is out.  Plus the variety of organic produce and the preparations would take me the same amount of dough AND so much time!  Plus, the entree is enough to stuff me, so I can stretch many of the meals into two.  I think it is worth a try. I really want to eat more raw, this is the way to start, then I can gradually start adding in my own.

I carried out two more entrees, a salad and a dessert and I will go back on Thursday after work to get the same amount again.  This will carry me through the weekend and I won’t have to grocery shop for fresh produce this week!  I am in heaven.  It is the perfect week to try it, too, as hubby is gone Wed-Sun and I am on my own even more for food… I can eat as much raw as I want!

I have not eaten anything raw that was so magnificent. I can actually, realistically, go raw 5 days a week now, and STILL WORK FULL TIME.  Heck, I may actually have MORE time on my hands!  I am so thrilled.  I can also pursue making food for Noah… which I was not sure how I could work in when my own meals were so time consuming.

Now I really want to go to raw culinary classes.  This did it.  And guess what?  THEY OFFER THEM…. I just have to wait until fall.  I will BE THERE!

Thank you Borrowed Earth Cafe for adding some raw food love to my life.  I am so grateful to have found you!

About amkaz

A Virtual Assistant is a highly trained and skilled administrative professional who works in a collaborative partnership with successful small business owners and entrepreneurs providing administrative support and personal concierge services, without having to be physically present in your office. Communication and collaboration is easily accomplished through phone, fax, e-mail, and the internet. True assistance is no longer bound by geography or nine to five, Monday through Friday business hours. I am an accomplished and versatile professional with 10 years management and entrepreneurial experience in retail sales, buying, and store operations and another 8 years experience with office operations management within the banking and merchant payment processing industry. I am a determined individual who consistently achieves desired results in challenging environments while building and maintaining strong relationships with clients and colleagues. My areas of expertise include document creation and management, process improvement, organization, and coordinating classes, meetings and events. Contact me for more information about how I can help you grow your business! Mission Statement: My mission is to create time, opportunity, and results by delivering the highest level of administrative services with integrity, diligence, and responsiveness. I am not successful unless my clients are administratively successful.
This entry was posted in Healthy Living, Raw Foods and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

