Raw Day 2

Well yesterday’s raw food day was so successful that I am doing it again today.  My head feels better and so does the body.

Thursday’s Food:

  • 1 whole cantaloupe
  • Vegan protein shake with Maca, and greens
  • green salad
  • red pepper strips
  • Kale and Fennel Salad with Miso Dressing (yes again, but I needed to use up the kale and fennel and I love this salad.  Kale is good for you!)

I go to acupuncture tonight.  I really hope it helps with my head.  I think raw yesterday helped, so we shall see how adding another day does!  I still woke up achy and with frontal-face-head-pain.  I can breathe through my nose, but it is packed up in there otherwise.  I also still have a tinge of a sore throat, but it is almost gone.  It’s another rainy day here, though, so I am not expecting it to be perfect, just better.

I have not had the morning after raw feeling yet today.  I feel much better, but not that bound of energy leap.  I think it is in part due to a little less sleep last night.  I do well on 7-9 hours and not so well with over 9 or under 7.  Last night I got about 6.5 and it is dumb that the half hour makes a difference but I can usually feel it.  I have no clue how my mother deals with the lower amount of sleep she gets.  I am not that girl.

Tomorrow I have a doctor appointment in the AM.  I am going to come off of hormones.  I have been on hormones for most of my adult life.  I went on them at 19 to deal with a heavy menstrual cycle and stayed on them from 19-31 pretty much straight through.  At 31 I came off for a while and went right back on 8 months later due to a cyst on an ovary (they help with that I guess).  That was 9 years ago, so out of my 40 years on this planet I have doused my body with synthetic hormones for 21 years.  Yes, I am concerned about ending that but I also cannot wait.  I have known since I was 30 that I really didn’t want to be on them but they were convenient and seemed to solve some issues, so I just kept doing it.  Since going on blood pressure meds last year (because of the hormones, don’t you love our medical system:  just take another drug!) I have REALLY wanted off the “pill” (really the ring) so I am going to do it.

I already talked to Melissa at Karma Chow about the detox I can expect to have, and my acupuncturist specializes in women’s health issues so I feel that I have the nutritional and physiological support to come off and survive it.  Being a pretty big deal to me I am both nervous and excited.  I was spending what translated to $1500.00 per year out of pocket to be on the ring and the blood pressure meds, so I think that the alternatives I now face, which are also expensive, are a better choice since they do not involve dousing my body with synthetic or ANY hormones.  I hope that the appointment goes well tomorrow and I am on my way to a new plan by July 1.  I started my last “dose” of hormones last night.  27 days to go.

I am interested in talking to other women about their experiences with changes when coming off of the pill after so many years, but it isn’t exactly a subject you just openly bring up… so if anyone reading has experience and is comfortable sharing, please do so.

When I set out to change my life this year I wasn’t joking around!

About amkaz

A Virtual Assistant is a highly trained and skilled administrative professional who works in a collaborative partnership with successful small business owners and entrepreneurs providing administrative support and personal concierge services, without having to be physically present in your office. Communication and collaboration is easily accomplished through phone, fax, e-mail, and the internet. True assistance is no longer bound by geography or nine to five, Monday through Friday business hours. I am an accomplished and versatile professional with 10 years management and entrepreneurial experience in retail sales, buying, and store operations and another 8 years experience with office operations management within the banking and merchant payment processing industry. I am a determined individual who consistently achieves desired results in challenging environments while building and maintaining strong relationships with clients and colleagues. My areas of expertise include document creation and management, process improvement, organization, and coordinating classes, meetings and events. Contact me for more information about how I can help you grow your business! Mission Statement: My mission is to create time, opportunity, and results by delivering the highest level of administrative services with integrity, diligence, and responsiveness. I am not successful unless my clients are administratively successful.
This entry was posted in Healthy Living, Raw Foods and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

