The Go-Forward Decision

Saturday, May 1, 2010 “Cleanse” is over

Stay Vegan or go Vegetarian?  That is the question.

Can one be mostly vegan and partially vegetarian?  Yes.  I think that still probably makes them a Vegetarian, though, not a Vegan.  Not that the title really matters.

What will happen to my body when I do eat dairy/eggs and gluten?  We shall see.  I will be reintroducing some dairy and eggs now to see how I handle them.  I do want to stay off of sugar, caffeine, and gluten for sure, and I will not be going back to eating meat, either.  I may gradually introduce red wine and I may not, time will tell.  I can’t for sure right now, and I have also lost any desire to do so.

Sugar is the toughest, it is hidden everywhere.  Salad dressings, sauces, and even store-bought gluten-free baked goods.  Make your own is the way to go, and ask questions when you go out!

Food today:

  • 2 Gluten, Sugar-Free Vegan Waffles (Van’s) with raw almond butter and raw agave
  • “Plum Euro Vegan Meals”: Quinoa and Arugula Salad (Quinoa, Black Beans, Corn, Carrots, grape tomatoes, cucumbers, arugula, and grape seed dressing.) Super yum!
  • Red and yellow pepper strips
  • Roasted unsalted almonds (at bookstore, they didn’t have raw and I was not prepared)
  • Dinner out: PEI WEI I had the tofu-vegetables with brown rice and the Thai Dynamite sauce.

Today, after busting my butt for 2 hours doing some pretty major garden work in our yard and hosing down the downstairs patio and cleaned the patio furniture, I went to my friend, Michele Papenheim’s make-up salon and got my eyebrows done and bought make-up.  It is from Jane Iredale and is very natural.  I got foundation, concealer, powder, finishing spray, an eyeshadow, and a lip gloss.  I spent my 6 month cosmetics budget in one day but it will last at least 8. I tried avoid products containing non-vegan ingredients like Carmine.  I am happy with my purchases and like the way the cosmetics feel on my skin.

We had a home showing and couldn’t go home, so we went to Barnes and Noble.  I found the book “Skinny Bitch” and wanted to see what it was all about after reading about it online.  I read half of it while we were in the bookstore and bought it to bring home and read the rest.

We ran to Plum Market, and I truly wish that there was a Plum Market everywhere I went.  They even have the Umiboshi plums in “The Kind Diet” book.  I didn’t buy them yet, $16 for 9.  I want to look around, talk to Melissa, and see what I want to do with that first.  I bought the coconut flour, Arrowroot flour, and unsweetened coconut for mom’s Mother’s day cake, some spirulina, mesquite powder, organic strawberries and blueberries for breakfast tomorrow, lunch today, and some odds and ends so I can cook in the morning.  I also ought some of the Grape Seed Dressing they make fresh there so I can try to figure out the recipe.  It contains grape seed oil, lemon juice, garlic and ginger.  It is EXCELLENT with the quinoa and arugula.  Now another favorite salad!

We relaxed for a while around the house (I kept reading while I did laundry) then we had plans with friends so we grabbed dinner at Pei Wei and went to their house.  They were having a bon-fire and were considering purchasing a Jeep Wrangler Unlimited so I took mine so they could ask questions, drive it, and play with the soft top.  Generally at the dealer-ships you see hard tops.  We relaxed with them for a while (I was so full of brown rice and veggies that there was no temptation with the chips and dips they had out) then came home about 10:30, I was really tired so I went to bed, but I finished reading “Skinny Bitch” before I fell asleep.

Did I say that book is graphic?  Graphic in regards to the treatment of factory farm animals.  So graphic I had nightmares about pigs when I finally went to bed.  I will never eat a pig again, not that I thought I would.  But now I will not.  Further, I marked the pages I knew I would need to read again later.  When my resolve is not so strong and I have thought about things like “One time won’t hurt me…” so I marked things about chemicals, pesticides, effects on the body, AND the factory animal stories so that I can go back and make sure I don’t slip back into my old lifestyle.  Vegan is my new lifestyle and I am going to work at each opportunity to eat, to maintain that lifestyle.

If I had conviction about being Vegan before this book, it has amplified.  I am going to try the fruit for breakfast approach in the book.  They talk about a raw day occasionally, which I am already trying to do weekly.  There is a lot about juicing in there.  I have a juicer so I need to get brave.  I think I will work on that this month.  May will be “get friendly with your juicer” month.

I have learned so much.  One thing is variety.  When I really work to have lots of different meals with different flavors and spices, combitations, and include filling beans and whole grains, I stay satisfied and do not miss meat, dairy, eggs, or sugar.  Eating some gluten-free bread once in a while (home-made since most store bought that I have found contains sugar) keeps that craving under wraps, and I really don’t miss wine and caffeine.  I am going to find a caffeine-free green tea so that I can have some variety there, and search for an organic, no sulfates added wine to try, EVENTUALLY, MAYBE.  If I do try wine again I am going to do it as kindly as possible… to myself and the environment.  I hope these feelings last.  I know I have to work to keep my body clean and feeling like it does right now.  It is up to me.

About amkaz

A Virtual Assistant is a highly trained and skilled administrative professional who works in a collaborative partnership with successful small business owners and entrepreneurs providing administrative support and personal concierge services, without having to be physically present in your office. Communication and collaboration is easily accomplished through phone, fax, e-mail, and the internet. True assistance is no longer bound by geography or nine to five, Monday through Friday business hours. I am an accomplished and versatile professional with 10 years management and entrepreneurial experience in retail sales, buying, and store operations and another 8 years experience with office operations management within the banking and merchant payment processing industry. I am a determined individual who consistently achieves desired results in challenging environments while building and maintaining strong relationships with clients and colleagues. My areas of expertise include document creation and management, process improvement, organization, and coordinating classes, meetings and events. Contact me for more information about how I can help you grow your business! Mission Statement: My mission is to create time, opportunity, and results by delivering the highest level of administrative services with integrity, diligence, and responsiveness. I am not successful unless my clients are administratively successful.
This entry was posted in Vegan Cleanse and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

