Vegan Cleanse Day 22

Thursday, April 22, 2010

Today’s Meal Plan:

  • Breakfast:  Bob’s Red Mill Mighty Tasty Hot Cereal with Cinnamon, Blueberries, and raw Sunflower Seeds
  • Snack: Vegan Protein Shake with Maca and greens
  • Lunch: Quinoa-Cannellini Bean Salad
  • Snack: Edamame with Celtic Sea Salt
  • Dinner:  Kale Salad with Fennel

Mostly raw, I would say 60/40.

Slept great, only up once in the night.  Had trouble falling asleep (11) but slept until the alarm went off at 5:30 and felt fairly rested (even if it is less sleep than I like) when I awoke.  Interesting morning with digestion, but better than yesterday so no complaints.  Worked out (Back and Bis) and it was a great workout, but I didn’t have time for ARX, had to do that one at night.  I pigged out at lunch and ate twice as much as I should have and felt stuffed for hours afterwards.  Oops!  It was so good.  I shared the salad with co-workers and they liked it but suggested it should be spicier.  I agreed, the day after it was milder, so I updated the recipe (to the right in Vegan Recipes) with more chili pepper and Braggs.  The sweetness of the currants and goji berries kind of needs the spice.  Tonight’s salad was OUTRAGEOUS! So good. SO, SO, SO GOOD! I will post it. Overall today was wonderful and how I feel again confirms I am on the right path.

I found some pastas and beans I plan to order!  Gluten Free penne from Le Veneziane, via Saluneria Italiana.  I also found some sprouted almonds and sunflower seeds, and my amaranth grain at Nuts Online (www.nutsonline.com) so I am going to make some good lists of things to order after pay-day.  I want to find a really good gluten-free pasta that my hubby likes so that when I make pasta we will BOTH eat it and I won’t have to boil two pots of water.

As a tip, on Facebook yesterday, the Gluten Free page asked for recommendations for eating Gluten-Free in Chicago.  The Facebook page is at http://www.facebook.com/#!/pages/Gluten-Free/156656676820.

They listed the following for Chicago Gluten-Free Dining:

  1. Wildfire
  2. Wilde
  3. Sit Down Cafe
  4. Roses Bakery
  5. Fattoush  2652 N. Halsted St.  Chicago, IL 60614 1-773-327-2652
  6. Da Luciano’s River Grove
  7. Aurelios Pizza
  8. Barraco’s (in Orland Park)
  9. Bistro 110 (in Chicago)
  10. Boston’s (191st & Harlem)
  11. Burgundy Bistro (in Olympia Fields)
  12. Champps (on LaGrange Rd. in Orland)
  13. Cheeseburger in Paradise (in Downers Grove)
  14. Chicago Dough Co. (in New Lenox)
  15. Francesca’s (in Frankfort)
  16. Great Harvest Bread Co. (in Palos Park)
  17. Guardi’s Pizza (in Tinley Park)
  18. Little Joe’s (in New Lenox) (Gluten-Free Pizza and Beer)
  19. Maggiano’s (in Oakbrook)
  20. OMG It’s Gluten Free Cafe’ (in Frankfort)
  21. Outback Steakhouse
  22. Palermo’s Restaurant (in Orland Park)
  23. P.F. Changs
  24. Portillo’s
  25. Stir Crazy

I also, through this Facebook page found a great Gluten-Free travel website called Celiac Travel at http://www.celiactravel.com/.  I would not use the restaurant cards because I am not Celiac but there is a lot of great info on this site about trying to be gluten-free while traveling.  It is out of the UK so the blog sites recipes and sauces that we aren’t familiar with on this side of the pond, but still some very educational reading.  I also downloaded two apps for my iPhone, one with called Gluten Free and the other called Gluten Freed.  I still have to try them out.

What I have found is that being this restrictive with meals is better done cooking or preparing meals at home.  However while traveling and/or spending time with friends and family this is not always possible so being prepared with a list of places to go is very helpful.

About amkaz

A Virtual Assistant is a highly trained and skilled administrative professional who works in a collaborative partnership with successful small business owners and entrepreneurs providing administrative support and personal concierge services, without having to be physically present in your office. Communication and collaboration is easily accomplished through phone, fax, e-mail, and the internet. True assistance is no longer bound by geography or nine to five, Monday through Friday business hours. I am an accomplished and versatile professional with 10 years management and entrepreneurial experience in retail sales, buying, and store operations and another 8 years experience with office operations management within the banking and merchant payment processing industry. I am a determined individual who consistently achieves desired results in challenging environments while building and maintaining strong relationships with clients and colleagues. My areas of expertise include document creation and management, process improvement, organization, and coordinating classes, meetings and events. Contact me for more information about how I can help you grow your business! Mission Statement: My mission is to create time, opportunity, and results by delivering the highest level of administrative services with integrity, diligence, and responsiveness. I am not successful unless my clients are administratively successful.
This entry was posted in Vegan Cleanse and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Vegan Cleanse Day 22

  1. Lorna says:

    Wow, Amy! You are doing so great. Thank you for all the tips, resources and recipes here. You go girl!
    Lorna

    • amkaz says:

      Thanks! I am trying to work on posting more recipes but there is only so much time. 🙂 Thanks for visiting, I hope you check in here and there at least for recipes!

Leave a Reply

