Vegan Cleanse Day 20

Tuesday, April 20, 2010

Today’s Meal Plan:

  • Breakfast:  Bob’s Red Mill Mighty Tasty Hot Cereal with Blueberries, and raw Sunflower Seeds
  • Snack: Vegan Protein Shake with Maca and greens
  • Lunch:  Roasted beets, Kichadi, Pinto Beans, and a little left-over Amaranth salad with roasted onions, raisins, edamame, and sweet potato (from Whole Foods and only OK)
  • Snack: Soaked, skinless Almonds
  • Dinner:  a giant Molested Kale Salad with pine nuts and 2 slices home-made whole grain brown Gluten Free bread with Earth Balance spread

Mostly raw, I would say 60/40.

So last night my friend FORGOT we were going out for her birthday and when I arrived to pick her up, she had already eaten.  So I hit the salad bar at Whole Foods and got a DELISH Amaranth Vegan Salad with raw red, orange, and yellow peppers, onions, and lentils.  Oil free and YUMMO!  I also got a less delicious Amaranth salad with edamame and sweet potato, that I am finishing today for lunch.  It was good, just too sweet.  The potato, roasted onion, and raisins made it sweeter than I would have liked for dinner, but it was good.  I just wouldn’t get it again.

I slept okay last night, woke up 3 times.  Not sure if it was all the water (1 liter) after 9, or if it has something to do with the new Chinese Herbals from the acupuncturist.  I guess time will tell.  I was surprised to wake up that often when I haven’t been.  I also awoke today to bad sinuses, so I pushed my workout off to tonight to try to get more sleep.  It is Chest, Shoulders, and Tris, plus ARX, so I wanted to make sure I was mentally ready for all of the push-ups and my sinuses were not really ready.  I will be doing the workout tonight.  Something is in the air today, because my nose is like a faucet, and even my ears are draining (gross, I know).  While I am glad I was draining rather than congested, I still had that mild headache that is making me nuts.  A cup of tea helped, and I planned for a little Kichadi (I have it) with my lunch, just for some extra garlic and ginger up in there.

Beets are very cleansing, so I was happy to eat them today.  I had been craving them but was avoiding them due to the sugar content.  Melissa gave me the ok, so I had two today.  They were delicious.  Beets are one of my favorite vegetables.  My grandma used to pickle beets and eggs together and they were so yummy!  Each time I eat beets now I think of her, so it is a nice memory, too.

I have been tinkering with MacGourmet (I have 17 days left on the trial) and I signed up for a mobileme class at Apple next Tuesday night.  MacGourmet syncs with an iPhone app but it also syncs with ical and mobileme, so you can make a menu plan on your calendar.  I am not sure this feature would be beneficial to me UNLESS mobileme will also help me with some other issues of syncing.  I have outlook at work and have never successfully synced that to my entourage calendar without multiple entries, so I guess I will see what I learn.  It would be nice to have access to things from anywhere (less dragging home of the laptop) so I will see what I learn next Tuesday night.  Between now and then I need to play with importing some recipes and entering my own to see if this would be a beneficial tool.  As I said before, there are not very many restrictive diet (gluten, sugar, animal products) cookbooks available, so this would be a way of making my own compilation of recipes that really creates a book designed around this cleanse and way of eating.

I listen to Whatever Radio on the Martha Stewart Sirius Radio Channel alot and Alexis Stewart (Martha’s daughter) is a vegetarian and has a gluten-free intern on the show.  She will make recipes around this a lot and post them on her blog, so I follow that.  She takes recipes from other sources and turns them vegetarian and gluten-free.  Her blog, if you are interested, is www.whateverradio.com/website/blogs.php.  Yesterday she posted a Quinoa with Lime and Ginger Dressing Recipe that I just have to try.  After loving the Lemon Quinoa with all my heart I think I will love the Lime.

I really need to focus on variety and I was hoping to figure out a way to have something to help me do that.  I thought of using Filemaker to make a relational database to help with the planning, but I think if I work MacGourmet right, I can do that there.  For now I have made a table of beans so that I can do a rotation.  Basically, I think I can do a 2 week rotation using a different bean each day.  If I can program that rotation out for 4-6 weeks worth of recipes and make sure I always vary the vegetables and grains, I will be getting a lot of variety.  My thought process is based on the fact that to eat a variety you have to plan, otherwise you pick your favorite dishes out over and over again.  I want to try to apply the logic to dark leafy greens also and see if relationally I can layer that plan over the bean plan and come up with a 6 week rotation cycle that covers a lot of variety, many different combinations, and all the nutrients that I need.  Next, I want to try to apply the rule that I eat in-season as much as possible.  That will be tough, but I think it is do-able.  What I would end up is a framework of bean, grain, and veggie combinations that reflect the seasons but do not have a repeat meal (other than left-overs for lunches) in the 6 weeks, then if I want I can repeat the cycle.  It is easy to think in three dimensions about meal planning when you aren’t standing in the kitchen with the fridge door open and a knife in your hand and are STARVING… so I will endeavor this week to work out a schedule for each area, then layer them on top of one another and see if I can come up with a guide.  Then I will find recipes that fit within that guide and compile them somewhere so I am able to save those I like (to repeat), save those I want to alter and test recipe changes on, and those that I never, ever want to eat again.  I think once I have this all figured out I will have a reference that will make meal planning fun again.  Kind of like, Meat/Starch/Vegetable (the standard American diet plan) but mine will be bean/grain/vegetable and I have to account for at least one raw day a week, and a raw food at each meal.  Not too bad!  I work much better with plans than I do spontaneously so I really want to get this figured out so I have a guide.  I guess I need to stop blogging about it and start doing it, huh?

I was sort of hungry and tired most of the day.  Foggy mind.  I rushed to get out of work, get home, eat, and get my workout in so I could get to bed at a decent time.  Even though I will use less cayenne in my salad next time it was delicious.  It fueled my workout nicely.  I had a little trouble falling asleep but slept well.  I think I got up once in the night, early, but cannot remember.

About amkaz

A Virtual Assistant is a highly trained and skilled administrative professional who works in a collaborative partnership with successful small business owners and entrepreneurs providing administrative support and personal concierge services, without having to be physically present in your office. Communication and collaboration is easily accomplished through phone, fax, e-mail, and the internet. True assistance is no longer bound by geography or nine to five, Monday through Friday business hours. I am an accomplished and versatile professional with 10 years management and entrepreneurial experience in retail sales, buying, and store operations and another 8 years experience with office operations management within the banking and merchant payment processing industry. I am a determined individual who consistently achieves desired results in challenging environments while building and maintaining strong relationships with clients and colleagues. My areas of expertise include document creation and management, process improvement, organization, and coordinating classes, meetings and events. Contact me for more information about how I can help you grow your business! Mission Statement: My mission is to create time, opportunity, and results by delivering the highest level of administrative services with integrity, diligence, and responsiveness. I am not successful unless my clients are administratively successful.
This entry was posted in Vegan Cleanse and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

