Vegan Cleanse Day 17

Saturday, April 17, 2010

Today’s Meal Plan:

  • Late Breakfast (I slept in):  Van’s gluten free waffles, raw almond butter, raw agave syrup, and fresh strawberries
  • Lunch: Quinoa with sweet potatoes, spinach, and almonds in gluten free soy dressing (no sugar)
  • Snack: Cinnamon Soaked Raw Almonds
  • Dinner:  Field green salad with tomatoes, strawberries, pears, walnuts and vinegar and oil, and grilled summer squash, eggplant, and zucchini with garlic and balsamic  (Jilly’s in Naperville)

I slept in because of my sinuses.  I felt a little better but still woke up with a headache.  I had a big breakfast when I woke up (I was hungry) and then had my call with Melissa Costello from Karma Chow (www.karmachow.com) for the half-way point of the cleanse.

I explained to her that the challenges have been properly planning meals so that the ingredients I need to use are available and ready when I need them.  She recommended some sites for me to check out, a few iPhone apps to help with produce and recipes, and MacGourmet for meal planning so I am checking that out tomorrow.  We talked through what is helping me sleep better and might help my sinuses.   Gluten and sinus issues are so directly related that I am really hoping that staying as gluten free as possible will help me out.  She seemed happy I was seeking an acupuncturists help, also, more holistic treatments.

We watched Food, Inc. last night, finally.  My hubby doesn’t want to see it so I watched it with my friend.  WOW.  That is all I can say.  WOW.  Made me more committed to change how we eat and how I shop.  Everyone should see this movie.

My friend gets her meats from a local farmer, so I plan to jump on this bandwagon for Chris.  I already got our Thanksgiving turkeys this way and tried to buy most other meats at Whole Foods (free-range and grass fed) but I think going local on top of that is nice.

Melissa told me about Local Harvest (www.localharvest.org) so I can find a farmer’s market wherever we are.  I cannot wait to check them all out.  We go to the one in Birmingham, MI whenever possible, but I only have a couple local farmer’s markets when we are in Naperville, IL because I have never researched more.  I am now. It will be nice to both support local growers and try to be sure I am eating things in season.  The iPhone app she suggested will help with that as well.

One nice thing I will add about Plum Market (MI chain, sorry IL people who read my blog) is that the store labels all MI products, so I can easily shop more locally there.  I love this feature.  Whole Foods should do more of that in their stores.

Last night my friend told me about Honey in Glen Ellyn, IL with a lot of organic, local, and sustainable foods and we are going to try it out next Saturday night.   She said the menu is well marked vegan, gluten-free etc. so I am super psyched to try it and support a restaurant that is pursuing this path.  I will blog about that next weekend.

Today I emptied the fridge, freezer, and all of the pantry and dumped anything outside of the realm of how we are eating now.  Chris is NOT vegetarian or gluten-free as a rule, so there are still many things in our kitchen that reflect that, but I thought I would share some AFTER photos of my re-design.

Old Pantry

Old Pantry

This is my OLD food pantry.  Things got LOST on these deep wide shelves, so I took the food out and mover the stuff from my other cabinets in.  Now the food is in 12″ deep shelves… easier to see what is there to eat!

Grains and Nuts Dry Storage

Grains and Nuts Dry Storage

Staples

Staples

Hubby's Cabinet

Hubby's Cabinet

And the fridge and freezer are now ready for grocery shopping tomorrow!

Clean Freezer!

Organized Fridge

It took me the entire day to complete this project.  I was exhausted!  I had burned 2250 calories by 4 PM and I hadn’t worked out yet!  At least I get to play a little tonight!

About amkaz

A Virtual Assistant is a highly trained and skilled administrative professional who works in a collaborative partnership with successful small business owners and entrepreneurs providing administrative support and personal concierge services, without having to be physically present in your office. Communication and collaboration is easily accomplished through phone, fax, e-mail, and the internet. True assistance is no longer bound by geography or nine to five, Monday through Friday business hours. I am an accomplished and versatile professional with 10 years management and entrepreneurial experience in retail sales, buying, and store operations and another 8 years experience with office operations management within the banking and merchant payment processing industry. I am a determined individual who consistently achieves desired results in challenging environments while building and maintaining strong relationships with clients and colleagues. My areas of expertise include document creation and management, process improvement, organization, and coordinating classes, meetings and events. Contact me for more information about how I can help you grow your business! Mission Statement: My mission is to create time, opportunity, and results by delivering the highest level of administrative services with integrity, diligence, and responsiveness. I am not successful unless my clients are administratively successful.
This entry was posted in Vegan Cleanse and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

