Vegan Cleanse Day 16

Friday, April 16, 2010

Today’s Meal Plan:

  • Breakfast:  Bob’s Red Mill Mighty Tasty Hot Cereal with Cinnamon, Blueberries, raw coconut cream, and raw Sunflower Seeds
  • Snack: Spinach and Lentil Soup, raw cookies (sesame seeds, coconut, dates)
  • Lunch: Vegan Protein Shake with Maca and greens
  • Snack: Goji Berries
  • Dinner: Lemon Quinoa and sauteed Vegetables, big green salad, Strawberries and Coconut Cream.  Had a friend over for dinner. She is trying to go Gluten Free so I wanted to make some Quinoa for her.

Mostly raw, I would say 60/40.

Well this morning was sheer hell.  It was a dry windy day yesterday and then it rained all night, my sinuses are a mess.  Top that off with getting home last night at midnight after not nearly enough food (Blueberries for dinner) and I was a recipe for a headache from hell.

In the past, coffee would have alleviated some of the pain.  No such luck now, so I had to punt.  I was starving so I ate a great breakfast, but still hungry at 10 meant no shake and a trip to whole foods for some homeopathic pain stuff for the sinuses.  No over the counter drugs allowed, so I hope this is ok.  I got Mezereum, which is good for sinus head pain.  While there I got some great Spinach-Lentil soup and some quinoa to try this weekend with spinach and sweet potatoes in it.  I love their food bar, there are so many vegan and vegetarian options.  Lots are also gluten-free, so I am able to eat well there if need be.  It isn’t as inexpensive as making it myself, but had I had one close last night I could have eaten well anyway, and in a hurry.

I am considering seeking out an acupuncturist for my sinuses.  I use a neti-pot which is great.  I am kicking gluten, which is known to help.  I was kind of hoping I would have an easier spring because of this.  I scheduled an appointment for Monday morning with one to see if it can help.  Based on what I have read and heard this may be a viable alternative and lessen the issues I have in the spring and fall.  Most of today was unbearable pain to the point of my right eye swelling shut so I would love a solution.  Sleep last night would have helped this, too, so I need to plan for a good night sleep tonight.  I think after my friend leaves I will just take an epsom salt bath then crash in bed.  I think I am going to move Yoga to tomorrow, too, and do Yoga in the AM then do Core Synergistics in the afternoon. I hate to double up but I am in some serious pain.  Yoga could help me with it, I know, but the thought of bending over in Downward Facing Dog somehow doesn’t sound pleasant with a throbbing sinus headache.  I will take the night as it comes and see what will work best.

Accupuncture

I do not know anyone personally that has ever had acupuncture performed for any reason other than my mother-in-law.  She does it for neck and back pain and swears by it.  She also swears by two scotch and waters a day at 4:00 PM, which I could never do, so we shall see how I react to tiny pins being inserted into my skin.  Who knows, I could probably use an adjustment to my “vital energy” so I am going to give it a try.

I have also been thinking more and more about taking my Raw Foods Certification to the next level.  I have taken the FUNdamentals of Raw Living Foods Intensive through Living Light Center but need to next take Associated Chef Training next.  To be honest, I should probably re-take FUNdamentals because I am sure some things have changed since I took it in 2003.  I am especially interested in the Science of Raw Food Nutrition course.  It is only $375, I just need to figure out how to do it.  I was able to take FUNdamentals here in IL but the rest seem to all be in Fort Bragg, CA.  That and it is pricey.  It would cost me about $5K to be certified and that is without travel and lodging.  I would need to be thinking about making a career out of this to go that route, which I used to consider but living in the Midwest I just don’t see a demand for it.  I know of someone doing so in MI, and she is a friend of a friend.  I should seriously consider talking to her sometime about it and do a little soul searching as well.  I really wanted to do it 8 years ago and would have if I could have afforded to… so I still really have the desire, but I know from being a personal chef here in the Midwest, ESPECIALLY in this economy, there isn’t a lot of hope on finding clients.  I’ll mention to our friend when I see her on May 1 that I would like to meet/talk with this MI raw foodie and see where it leads.

It is amazing the changes I have been considering this year.  Sometimes I think I am taking on too much, other times I feel like a slacker because there are things that I want to do and I just let time pass.  I am glad to be spending this time on my health and well being, and focusing more on where I want my life to go and how I want to live it daily.  This cleanse has been more than food related.

About amkaz

A Virtual Assistant is a highly trained and skilled administrative professional who works in a collaborative partnership with successful small business owners and entrepreneurs providing administrative support and personal concierge services, without having to be physically present in your office. Communication and collaboration is easily accomplished through phone, fax, e-mail, and the internet. True assistance is no longer bound by geography or nine to five, Monday through Friday business hours. I am an accomplished and versatile professional with 10 years management and entrepreneurial experience in retail sales, buying, and store operations and another 8 years experience with office operations management within the banking and merchant payment processing industry. I am a determined individual who consistently achieves desired results in challenging environments while building and maintaining strong relationships with clients and colleagues. My areas of expertise include document creation and management, process improvement, organization, and coordinating classes, meetings and events. Contact me for more information about how I can help you grow your business! Mission Statement: My mission is to create time, opportunity, and results by delivering the highest level of administrative services with integrity, diligence, and responsiveness. I am not successful unless my clients are administratively successful.
This entry was posted in Vegan Cleanse and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

