A new OLD pair of pants

Well I am not weighing myself but I backed into another pair of pants today.  This pair was too tight on 3/13 so I must be making progress.

Sadly, I will be missing some pants as I go backwards.  I have a few cute pairs of white pants that I am going to miss on my way back down.  A great pair of Ralph Lauren white silk twill pants that I love.  I will be sending those to my cousin to sell in her resale shop because it is too early to wear them and they are already kind of big on me.   I shall keep NO big clothes.  NONE.  In fact, I am almost to the point where the workout clothes are going to have to give.   I have 4 GREAT pairs of Russell workout pants (not sweats but heavier than t-shirt weight) that at so big now that they drag on the floor and I step on them.  I rationalize that they have a drawstring waist, but they would be too easy to grow back into, so they are also going to go bye-bye this weekend.  Salvation Army.  I am keeping no safety net, people.  None.  I gain again, I go naked.  That is that.

Fortunately, I work out 2/3 of the time at home so I have to impress no one.  I will get back into my cute workout clothes eventually but until then it is SCARY central.  Case in point the Champion workout bra that will soon be too big but is currently fitting.  It has lost the enamel off of the hooks and strap thingy’s and those metal parts were cutting into my back.  I am not buying another bra that size so I had to find a solution.  A raw and bleeding back post-workout was unappealing, and quite frankly these girls are too big to go unchecked.  Solution?  I wear the bra OVER the workout top.  Yes, it is scary!  I have been wearing another top over it to hide my nasty look, but it gets hot mid-workout and, well…YIKES!

Week 6 is going well.  Each workout I can sort of do more than the last.  This painful triceps on my right arm is making push-ups impossible, I am so scared to make it worse, so I am modifying, holding plank, and doing presses with dumbbells on the bench to mimic at least SOME activity.  While this is disappointing I am not going to beat myself up, I am just doing my best and forgetting the rest.  I actually think that in a few weeks I will be able to complete most if not all of Ab Ripper X.  It may not be pretty, but I am close.

Today is the first day of Chocolate Shakeology.  I have used Greenberry since Feb 1 and like it, but I did a chocolate, almond milk, and mint extract shake today and super yummy delicious!!!!!!!!! YUM!!!!!!!!  My favorite meal of the work-day, although my “Night Salad” is now a close second.  Mmmmmmm!  My night salad is 1 oz goat cheese, some chopped onion, 1/2 C kidney beans 1 ounce Avocado, 1-2 T sunflower seeds, and some olive oil-rosemary sugar free salad dressing over 4-5 C baby spinach.  Last night I wanted to eat two but I made myself stop at one.  It is delicious and I like not having to think when I get in the last fuel of the day.  I go home, whip it up, and eat.  Got to get it down before 7 so I can go to bed at 10.  No carbs or fat within 3 hours of bed.  It’s working.  I wish I had more time to be creative, but when you get home at 6 and have to be done consuming dinner at 7, there is not a whole lot of room for playing around.

I made black bean brownies for the work dessert bar today.  These will be a staple in the future.  I need to tweek them so they are a bit sweeter, but they are moist and chocaletey, so the fact that they are no sugar added and gluten free isn’t so bad.  People liked them, so there is hope for low-fat, gluten free desserts.  Here is the recipe with the changes I would make:

Black Bean Brownies

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. lightly grease an 8×8 square baking dish (or spray with Pam)

  • 1 15 ounce can black beans, rinsed & drained (I used reduced sodium)
  • 3 eggs (I used 2 eggs and 2 egg whites)
  • 3 Tbsp unsweetened applesauce
  • 1/4 cup cocoa powder
  • 1 pinch salt
  • 1 1/2 tsp clear Stevia or 4 packets Truvia  (I would use 5 or 6 next time)
  • 1 tsp instant coffee
  • 1/2 cup Nestle semi-sweet chocolate chips

Directions:
Combine everything except the chocolate chips into a blender (I used a food processor) until smooth. pour the mixture into the prepared baking dish. Sprinkle the chocolate chips on top of the mixture. bake until the top is dry and the edges start to pull away from the sides of the pan – about 30 minutes.

Makes 12 brownies.  Only 94 calories a brownie as I made them here.

Black Bean Brownies (Gluten-Free)

About amkaz

A Virtual Assistant is a highly trained and skilled administrative professional who works in a collaborative partnership with successful small business owners and entrepreneurs providing administrative support and personal concierge services, without having to be physically present in your office. Communication and collaboration is easily accomplished through phone, fax, e-mail, and the internet. True assistance is no longer bound by geography or nine to five, Monday through Friday business hours. I am an accomplished and versatile professional with 10 years management and entrepreneurial experience in retail sales, buying, and store operations and another 8 years experience with office operations management within the banking and merchant payment processing industry. I am a determined individual who consistently achieves desired results in challenging environments while building and maintaining strong relationships with clients and colleagues. My areas of expertise include document creation and management, process improvement, organization, and coordinating classes, meetings and events. Contact me for more information about how I can help you grow your business! Mission Statement: My mission is to create time, opportunity, and results by delivering the highest level of administrative services with integrity, diligence, and responsiveness. I am not successful unless my clients are administratively successful.
This entry was posted in Healthy Living and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A new OLD pair of pants

  1. Retired woman says:

    You are doing great! I have not tried the recipe for black bean brownies but Rocco DiSpirito gave this one:

    1 1/2 c canned black beans, rinsed and drained
    1/2 c unsweetened cocoa powder
    1 T espresso powder
    3/4 c egg substitute
    2 T low calorie sugar free chocolate syrup, such as Walden Farms
    2 T reduced fat sour cream
    1 T unsalted butter, melted
    24 packets Truvia (84 g) or 8 T Splenda
    1 T vanilla extract
    1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Spray an 8×8 inch glass baking dish with cooking spray.
    2. Combine the beans, cocoa powder, espresso powder, and egg substitute in the bowl of a food processor. Process until the mixture is smooth, about 2 minutes, scraping down the bowl halfway through.
    3. Add the chocolate syrup, sour cream, butter, Truvia, and vanilla. Process until all the ingredients are combined, about 1 minute.
    4. Pour the batter into the prepared baking dish, and smooth the top with a spatula. Bake for 28 to 30 minutes, turning the dish halfway through the baking time. A toothpick inserted in the center will come out with soft batter clinging to it.
    5. Let the brownies cool completely in the baking dish on a wire rack. Then cut into 12 squares and serve. Refrigerate any leftovers.

  2. Kate says:

    Yes, it’s great visible progress but it’s also annoying running out of fitting clothes… I remember there were some pants that I could just pull off without barely trying! It gave me a reason to go buy new clothes, but I didn’t want to spend more money.

    I have a healthy vegan black bean brownie suggestion for you! The recipe is on my blog, just scroll down to he pictures of the delicious-looking chocolate muffins and bars =). I also have a chocolate topping recipe for them: http://nocrapdiet.wordpress.com/r-recipes-desserts/
    Enjoy!

    • amkaz says:

      Thanks, I will try your brownies! I have only peeked at your blog, I cannot wait to read away! Enjoy the coconut butter, it looks dreamy!

      I have every pant size from 4-12 (used to by higher but I get rid of them as soon as they are too big!) so I am backing into a wardrobe as I go back down. I am really in 10s now and cannot WAIT to give the 12s away to charity. It is a GREAT feeling. Thanks for your comment, Kate!

Leave a Reply

