Endings and Beginnings

I had to lay an employee off today.  It was someone who worked in our home once a week, every week, for the past 3 years.  She made us feel safe, secure, and she took great care of our home.  She helped us through a major flood from a burst pipe.  I felt like, in a small way, she was part of our family.

I cried when I told her that we had to let her go.

I have known for weeks it had to happen.  At Thanksgiving we put it off.  Then we decided before Christmas but I just couldn’t bear to do it before the holidays.

I did it tonight.

My prayer was that she understood why, that she found a replacement position quickly, that her family wouldn’t suffer from the loss of income, that she would use me as a reference so I would be able to help her obtain future employment.

The reality is that her life is now changed.  She has to react and move on.

I will miss relying on her, knowing she is there to help each week and trusting that all will be well because of her help.

Our life is now changed.  I am in mourning.  I cried for a little while and will have to get over it and move on.

You may be wondering how I could be thinking of myself when SHE is the one who lost her job?

Well, miraculously, she was planning to quit.  She had been hoping that we wouldn’t need her.  She has found another opportunity and was contemplating taking that next step.  She was worried about US!  She didn’t want to let us DOWN.

A person like this cannot HELP but succeed.

God brings people into our lives that forever change us.  They come and go, and afterwards we can never be the same.

I have been fortunate to have known this woman.  Her hard-work, loyalty, and grace will be with me throughout the rest of my life.  Thank you, Lord, for bringing her into our lives, and please bless her future.

About amkaz

A Virtual Assistant is a highly trained and skilled administrative professional who works in a collaborative partnership with successful small business owners and entrepreneurs providing administrative support and personal concierge services, without having to be physically present in your office. Communication and collaboration is easily accomplished through phone, fax, e-mail, and the internet. True assistance is no longer bound by geography or nine to five, Monday through Friday business hours. I am an accomplished and versatile professional with 10 years management and entrepreneurial experience in retail sales, buying, and store operations and another 8 years experience with office operations management within the banking and merchant payment processing industry. I am a determined individual who consistently achieves desired results in challenging environments while building and maintaining strong relationships with clients and colleagues. My areas of expertise include document creation and management, process improvement, organization, and coordinating classes, meetings and events. Contact me for more information about how I can help you grow your business! Mission Statement: My mission is to create time, opportunity, and results by delivering the highest level of administrative services with integrity, diligence, and responsiveness. I am not successful unless my clients are administratively successful.
This entry was posted in Healthy Living. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

