New Years Resolutions

New Years.  What seems to be on everyone’s list?  After the discussions of tonights activities subside, the hopes for the coming year and their “New Year’s Resolutions.”

From Websters…

Main Entry: res·o·lu·tion
Pronunciation: \ˌre-zə-ˈlü-shən\
Function: noun
Etymology: Middle English resolucioun, from Anglo-French or Latin; Anglo-French resolucion, from Latin resolution-, resolutio, from resolvere
Date: 14th century

1 : the act or process of resolving: as a : the act of analyzing a complex notion into simpler ones b : the act of answering : solving c : the act of determining d : the passing of a voice part from a dissonant to a consonant tone or the progression of a chord from dissonance to consonance e : the separating of a chemical compound or mixture into its constituents f (1) : the division of a prosodic element into its component parts (2) : the substitution in Greek or Latin prosody of two short syllables for a long syllable g : the analysis of a vector into two or more vectors of which it is the sum
2 : the subsidence of a pathological state (as inflammation)
3 a : something that is resolved <made a resolution to mend my ways> b : firmness of resolve
4 : a formal expression of opinion, will, or intent voted by an official body or assembled group
5 : the point in a literary work at which the chief dramatic complication is worked out
6 a : the process or capability of making distinguishable the individual parts of an object, closely adjacent optical images, or sources of light b : a measure of the sharpness of an image or of the fineness with which a device (as a video display, printer, or scanner) can produce or record such an image usually expressed as the total number or density of pixels in the image <a resolution of 1200 dots per inch>

synonyms see courage

A common theme for resolutions are to spend more time with family and friends, get fit, lose weight, quit smoking, enjoy life more, quit drinking, learn something new, get out of debt, help others, and get organized.  Sadly most of these resolutions fail.  After the sparkle of the new year fades to the dreary February winter days, life takes back over and even the best intentions fall by the wayside.

I made last-years “resolution” last until June.  I competed in my first Triathlon.  It was a sprint, not a long distance, but it was my first and I had longed for years to do one.  I decided at New Years I would do it and embarked on my journey.  I lost 24 pounds in the process and when June rolled around I even completed the Triathlon in under two hours which was my goal.

Then the saddest thing happened.  I stopped working out. Almost cold turkey.  I had joined a swim team so I still attended a few random practices.  I rode my bike one more time all summer.  I never “ran” again.

At first it was just for that week.  I did it, after all, so I deserved some time off!  Not exactly the logic of a fit-person, I know.  But definately the curse of a New Years Resolution. Now I am back up a good 15 pounds, and lost all of the semi-shape I achieved training for that event.

So why do we fall victim to them every year?  Maybe there are people out there that actually accomplish them.  I for one have never been one of those people, so I quit.  This year no resolutions.  Is that a resolution in and of itself?

I do have some lofty goals for this year.  I have written them all down and have established some solid reasoning behind them, some attainable deadlines, and prepared the paths to hopefully reach each one.  I am hopeful, but not because it is December 31, 2009 and I have a big, bright, full year ahead of me.  I am hopeful because I believe that this is all part of God’s plan for my life.  There are many things that I still haven’t learned yet and I am confident that I will get some of them past me this year with his help.

Do I list my goals here?  No, they are in my goal planner.  Should they be made public?  Do they become more real?  That has never served me in the past, so no.

Do I enlist others for help?  Yes.  I have learned I cannot go anything alone, no matter how I try, year after year, and fail.  Independence is selfish to a point.  Am I leaning on others to help?  No, but I have learned enough to reach out and ask for help when I need it and to let people know when I need a push.

I am going to Barcelona, Spain in June with my mom.  This is sort of a pinnacle step for me in 2010.  Many of the goals I have set have deadlines based on and for this trip.  My largest goal, though, I will share, and that is upon my return from Spain that my work on my goals and my life continue, and unlike last year I don’t take a week off that turns into six months of laziness.

When people hear me call myself lazy they generally laugh, but in many areas of my life I am lazy.  I don’t have that fitness bug that tugs me to activity.  I don’t long to go for walks, rides, or runs.  If I have a craving it is usually for a good book, a great movie, or a nap.  I would like to, after 4o years, establish some kind of consistency with my life that contains some time of sustainable activity that improves and maintains my health.  I can get up and go to work every day, I should be able to get up and do that also.

So, as I enter this new chapter, year, and decade of my life my goals wrap themselves around consistency.  Consistency in time with the family and friends that I cherish so much; consistency in whole, clean foods that make me stronger; consistency in being active and attempting to find joy in activities; consistency in my organization skills (which I have and fail to use often); and consistency in being diligent with my finances; consistency on my walk with the Lord and search for a church to call home.  If I could find a way to reach the goal of being more consistent I know that many other things will fall into place.

I hope that each of you find ways to be more consistent with your heart’s desires, your goals, your “resolutions”.  May this year, so full of hope, promise, and expectation, be a year in which you find the way to do that thing that will drive you closer to being the person you were meant to be.  If I can help you in any way, please let me know… and if you cross my path, please hold me accountable and ask me if I am being more consistent.

God Bless

About amkaz

A Virtual Assistant is a highly trained and skilled administrative professional who works in a collaborative partnership with successful small business owners and entrepreneurs providing administrative support and personal concierge services, without having to be physically present in your office. Communication and collaboration is easily accomplished through phone, fax, e-mail, and the internet. True assistance is no longer bound by geography or nine to five, Monday through Friday business hours. I am an accomplished and versatile professional with 10 years management and entrepreneurial experience in retail sales, buying, and store operations and another 8 years experience with office operations management within the banking and merchant payment processing industry. I am a determined individual who consistently achieves desired results in challenging environments while building and maintaining strong relationships with clients and colleagues. My areas of expertise include document creation and management, process improvement, organization, and coordinating classes, meetings and events. Contact me for more information about how I can help you grow your business! Mission Statement: My mission is to create time, opportunity, and results by delivering the highest level of administrative services with integrity, diligence, and responsiveness. I am not successful unless my clients are administratively successful.
This entry was posted in Healthy Living. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment